2011 in British music

The list "2011 in British music" has been viewed 1 time.

  1. Season 8

    Season 8


    The X Factor is a British television music competition to find new singing talent. The eighth series commenced airing on ITV on 20 August 2011 and ended on 11 December 2011. The winner was Little Mix, a four-piece girl group known earlier in the series as Rhythmix, consisting of members Jesy Nelson, Perrie Edwards, Leigh-Anne Pinnock, and Jade Thirlwall. They became the first act in the groups category to win in the show's history with new judge Tulisa Contostavlos emerging as their winning mentor. Dermot O'Leary presented the main show on ITV, while Caroline Flack and series 6 runner-up Olly Murs co-presented the spin-off show The Xtra Factor on ITV2, replacing Konnie Huq from the previous year. Louis Walsh returned to the judging panel. Gary Barlow, Kelly Rowland and Contostavlos replaced Simon Cowell, Dannii Minogue and Cheryl Cole on the panel after they left. During week 4 of the live shows, Alexandra Burke replaced Rowland due to a throat infection.

  2. Season 2

    Season 2


    The second UK series of Popstar to Operastar began on 4 June 2011, with eight celebrities in competition to become an opera singer, after achieving success as a popstar. The judges were confirmed; with Rolando Villazón and Katherine Jenkins and two new judges Vanessa-Mae and Simon Callow, who took over the places of Meat Loaf and Laurence Llewelyn-Bowen. Myleene Klass returned as the presenter taking on sole presenting duties as Alan Titchmarsh did not return.

2011 in British music
Change Photo

Sitemap Menu